Topic outline

  • This course provides guidance to complete the Protocols for the Integrated Phase Classification of Chronic Food Insecurity. It provides step-by-step guidance to complete the Protocols for each of the four Functions of the IPC.

    • System Requirements

      The online version of this course runs on the latest versions of Chrome and Safari. In order to access this course on Internet Explorer or Firefox, you must install and enable Adobe Flash player.

      The downloadable version only runs on Windows PC’s and no additional software is needed.

      • Audience

        The course is aimed at professionals who are or want to be involved in IPC activities at global, regional, or country levels, including: 

        • food security and nutrition analysists 
        • local officers 
        • sectoral experts 
        • communication officers.

        • You will learn about

          • Purpose of the four IPC functions for chronic food insecurity: building technical consensus, classifying severity and identifying key drivers, communicating for action, and quality assurance. 
          • How to complete all the protocols of each of the four functions.

          • Course structure

            The course is organized according to the four Functions of the IPC: 

            Function 1  Build technical consensus 

            Function 2  Classify severity & identify key drivers 

            Function 3  Communicate for action 

            Function 4  Quality assurance 

            • Partners